How Great Leaders Inspire Action

As a requirement of LDR 200 we were required to watch the Ted Talk by Simon Sinek. Simon speaks of how all great leaders think, act, and communicate in some way but it’s usually not like everyone else. Everyone knows why they do what they do, most know how they do what they do but few know why they do what they do. Why is more than just profit but a purpose, cause or belief. Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 2.53.29 PMHe used an example of apple and the way they draw in their customers. They know WHY they make their products. “Everything we do, we believe in challenging the status quo. We believe in thinking differently. The way we challenge the status quo is by making our products beautifully designed, simple to use and user friendly. We just happen to make great computers. Want to buy one?”

Simon states, “People don’t buy WHAT you do, they buy WHY you do it.” Apple clearly knows why they make their products and shares it with their customers. They sell to people to believe what you believe. He also spoke of the Law of diffusion of innovation that when a new product comes out we don’t buy a product everyone else is attracted to for ourselves instead, leaders inspire. Those who start with why have the ability to inspire those around them and find others who inspire them.

Following speaking about the Ted Talk and inspiration in class we created our “why” statements. I hope my actions can inspire others to challenge themselves and capture the tremendous opportunity everyday holds. If I know why I act the way I do in every aspect of my life, people will follow me and discover their why. These activities have opened doors for self- reflection to find myself and who I want to be. I’m thankful for this in that it should help me expand my personal discovery.

 

Leave a Reply

